The ‘Old Haa of Brough’, was built by Robert Tyrie, a local merchant. He completed the building in 1672, and it went on to become the home of various merchants and Hanseatic Traders.
The Old Haa Trust, formed in 1984, acquired the building from the Shetland Amenity Trust, with the proviso that they would “look after the building on behalf of the people of Yell.”
With this in mind, extensive repairs took place and the Old Haa was opened as a museum. The Trust later purchased the Smiddy next door, which was incorporated into the museum, and which now houses the Gift Shop and Gallery. The building is unique and was listed on 13 August 1971 as a building of local significance in Shetland, with its defining arches proudly curving towards the main road in front of the museum.